SOMETIMES YOU JUST HAVE TO...

...go with the flow!  I was going to take part in the Abstract Thursday challenge today, but when I saw this man from CityFibre at the end of our drive today, couldn’t resist making a collage of the photographs I took.

It’s a cold and frosty morning but sunny, so when we heard quite a loud noise outside, just before 9 o’clock, we wondered what it was, so went into the kitchen to see who was out there.  Looking out of the window we saw this man on his knees, having taken off the cover of the manhole at the top of our drive.

I said to Mr. HCB that he looked frozen, so he went out there to ask if he would like a cup of coffee - but he declined.  However, Mr. HCB went up to chat with him and found out that he was checking the cables ready for the installation of fibre optic cables to each house - we are hopeful that this means they won’t need to dig up our pavements, as they have done elsewhere, because in the weather we have been having, it has made such a mess.

He had put the manhole cover back on - just wondering if we are we allowed to call it that, or should it be a “person hole”?  Anyway, I explained that I took a photograph every day and wanted a shot of the inside of the man/personhole and he willingly obliged and took it off again, still chatting to Mr. HCB as he did it.  I must say at this point that I was wearing my pink robe, but the man didn’t blink an eyelid!  I took the photograph, noting of course, that the cables were my favourite colour, purple and then he replaced the cover.  

I thanked him and went back indoors as it was freezing, but Mr. HCB carried on chatting to him.  I did hear him say that he goes up and down the country, but to save money, he has a  motorhome, so goes back to live in that each evening.  I turned to say that at least he gets lots of holidays in different parts of the country, to which he responded, “I wish!”  

He did say that he appreciated the fact that I had offered him a cup of coffee, but it’s what we do in our little cul de sac - look after the workmen - in fact, if our neighbour, Lynn, had been about, she would have offered him a bacon sandwich too!  

I sneaked a further shot as he was walking down the road with the generator on his wheelbarrow - Blip done - actually being a bit cheeky, I guess you could call the purple fibre optic cables a "natural abstract" so I will tag it for AT today.  As my Blip is done early today, I guess I have time to do some housework before friends pop over for a cuppa and to collect some blueberry bushes Mr. HCB has dug up. Don't worry, I won't overdo it - actually according to a friend, she advises not to do housework on any day that ends with a 'y"!

It really takes no more effort to be kind than unkind and makes life so much better, don’t you think?  John Wesley gives good advice:

“Do all the good you can,
By all the means you can,
In all the ways you can,
In all the places you can,
At all the times you can,
To all the people you can,
As long as ever you can.”
John Wesley

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.