BEAUTY EVEN ON A WET WEDNESDAY

Another wet day, so I didn’t get up that early, in fact, I slept until after 10 o’clock.  I did listen to “Girls About Town” on Swindon 105.5 this morning and in fact, I had done an interview for the programme with Jo yesterday about staying positive and told her about my pampering bath the day before, but after that felt I needed to go out to get some exercise, so donned all my garb and off I went.  

I didn’t intend going on any grass, but was going to stick to the pavements/footpaths, so hadn’t put my walking boots on but when a lad riding a bike came towards me and obviously had no intention of moving the requisite 2 metres away from me, I decided to walk onto the grass, and then cross the road.  He was quite oblivious to me, smoking, speaking on his phone and guiding his bicycle with one hand, so I thought it best to get out of his way.   

There is no pavement on the side of the road I crossed to and the grass was quite long, so my jeans soon got very wet at the bottom, but with my thermals on, thankfully it didn’t make me feel too cold.

As I walked, I was looking towards the wooded area by the side of the road and spotted this tree, which I believe is probably a sycamore - we have lots around this way - and was quite taken with the trunk, which reminded me of a soldier’s camouflage gear.  It was raining and everything around looked drenched, as you can see from the fence by the side of the tree, but I thought it made a good Blip for today.

I did enjoy wandering around and took quite a lot of shots, and because I was concentrating on all the beauty in nature around me, forgot about the awfulness of the situation at the moment, which is good.

It wasn’t really that cold, but the wind was beginning to get up and I was glad to get back indoors and was looking forward to having some home-made soup.  Unfortunately, I had a lot of mud on my shoes, and as I stepped inside the back door, which is actually on the side of our house, Mr. HCB came out into the kitchen and told me he had washed the floor earlier!  Whoops.  Ah well, I might have to let him do it again!

I saw this in one of the Sunday papers, so I cut it out ready to send to a good friend - it made me giggle - and I hope you ladies will giggle too!

“Ripping off your mask
     when you get back in the car
          is the new “taking off  your bra”
               when you get home!”
Ann Onymous


P.S.  Have been trying to encourage another friend to join Blip and she did, two days ago!!  Here is a link to her Blip page - do go and welcome her.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.