Marionb

By Marionb

Listen Very Carefully...

...I Will Repeat This Only Once...

Another dull and very gloomy day - brightened up only by being book club meeting day. It was our friend Sandy's turn to host and she lives north of here in a charming small town on a rather big lake. As my friend Elaine and I were early getting there, we went down to the lake to kill some time..and it gave me a chance to try for a blip...

There was not much colour - just a lot of white and gray..but I did like the signs ! While we were there, a couple fellows came along to test their new  brilliantly green ice-fishing augur which provided at least one touch of colour in that rather drab landscape! (extra) That lake is a popular spot for ice-fishing and later in the season, will be covered in ice-huts...Now that would make a good blip! 

Book club went well. We are a small group of only 4 - one of whom moved to the Maritimes, but still joins us on Zoom. Often it is hard to get a real discussion going with the Zoom factor, as it tends to stifle natural and spontaneous exchanges, but this time we did OK. The book was Extraordinary Canadians that featured stories about remarkable "Canadians who in their own way are making Canada a better place for all." The stories were indeed inspiring and we each had our favourites, so it was easy to keep the discussion going.  Next month it is my turn to host lunch and the meeting..I haven't read the book yet but I will start it tonight; I have to be sure to get this one read in time, as the author is going to join us!  I am already thinking of questions I would like to ask her.....and would welcome any suggestions from other interested folks.. It should be a fun meeting...a real opportunity to get the inside story of one person's writing process.

A gloomy day, but worth the drive north; it was good to spend time with friends and talk books!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.