Where's the Cat?

Only a cat owner can understand the frustration of not being able to find the cat! I doubt that dog owners have to deal with that...

I have many stories to tell about my adventures with cats that hide, but I won't, as I already write too much in these journals!  But..maybe just one? 

The best one was about George who got up inside the box spring of a mattress in a motel in Gallup, New Mexico en route to Phoenix one winter and would not come out. The bed had to be dismantled with the help of a complete stranger I accosted in the parking lot! After almost 4 days on the road, there was no way that cat was going to get back in that car! I felt the same way, but hey...there was sunshine ahead of us...light at the end of the never-ending Interstate..so get in the car! 

So today's  adventure pales in comparison. It was Going to the Vet Day to Get Needles, and Maggie would have no part of it...The cleaning lady was here so could help me corral the cat, but not being a cat owner, she was easily outwitted. Maggie is a pretty laid back cat, but she can fool a beginner cat herder..and can be very quick of foot when she has to! So the chase was on...and of course, Maggie won. Cats usually do. She had reached her hiding place and there was no hope of getting her out. I had to call the vet to cancel and re-book...We will try again on Monday. 

It was definitely a Friday the 13th kind of start to the day... And then..an email from Air France...the flight I had just booked last week - for a departure three months from now - has already been changed! Say what? This does not bode well..Already? They are canceling flights already? I now have a connection time in Charles De Gaulle of almost 5 hours.. I fear this is just the beginning....

Then an email from a friend who is the organizer of the Limoux watercolour segment of my trip saying that she "has to talk to me" and "will explain". Would I be available tonight for her to call me from Florida where she is on vacation?... OMG...Now what? She's on vacation? And calling me? Must be an emergency! My sister and I have booked our entire trip round those two weeks, so please, please, do not tell me it is canceled! By ten o'clock, I could finally relax. Nothing was canceled but could I do her a favour and advise a couple of participants about flights, accommodation, costs and sight-seeing opportunities in Toulouse...? Really? That's it? ..Seems they are trying to decide between a few days beforehand in either Toulouse or Barcelona?.. Of course I can do that ...anything to help...but really? You do that for people who sign up? If only I had known! 

We are all so tired of gloomy grey days here...but tomorrow will be a better.. Breaking News...Rumour has it that The Sun Will Come Out Tomorrow! You can Bet Your Bottom Dollar... After three weeks of no sun! It will be cold, but who cares?..... 

Here Comes the Sun! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.