Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Monarch of the Bromeliad

I was having a quiet day at home until I got a call from my Aunt in the nursing home who insisted I come and see her and she couldn't talk to me over the phone.   So, one clear RAT later, and then donning mask and shield, I spent some time with her.  The long and the short of it is she is unhappy where she is and wants to leave.  I would gladly let her stay with me for a while but my house is not safe for her and she would need to isolate for 7 days when she got back so it is just not viable.  She will, like so many of our seniors just have to ride this wave out until things settle down a bit.  It is very hard for them.

Earlier on I felt a soft touch on my arm and noticed this wee jumper had hitched a ride in from the garden.   I put him on the bromeliad I had in the kitchen until I could take him outside (and take a photo).  He had a yearning to leave however and escaped.  I hope he makes it back outside again.

As for Novax Djokovid - he has made a choice which has consequences if he wants to play in Australia.  He is of course perfectly entitled to make his own choices regarding his health.  I do think however Australia could have treated him better than what we have done.   This could have been handled in a much better manner and I think we have mucked him around.   He has however been caught lying on his visa application form and he should take responsibility for that.  Indeed it was as he has admitted, an "error of judgment".  Imagine if you or I lied on a visa application form.  I hope his family butts out, mind you, they can call our PM what they like as I am fed up with him.   I think it still might be a "watch this space" as it is thought he is likely to appeal the ministers decision.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.