Ain't no sunshine

Quite! No sunshine again, but at least it's been dry most of the day. This afternoon Mrs M and I went for a walk around the streets where we get a good view out over the sea, but apart from the 'Clansman' coming in about a mile away and the white roofs of Atlantis Leisure, no Blips really leapt out at me!

So it's a bag of spuds! I've tried a number of potatoes over the last few years, but was very disappointed last year with 'Maris Piper', as they were hopeless for boiling and broke up very easily. Many years ago I remember buying seed potatoes of a variety named 'Sutton's Foremost', an early variety which were well-established and good for many uses, especially boiling. I sent away for a bag - now known simply as 'Foremost' - and will try them down at the Walled Garden this year. Meanwhile we've got 'Pink Fir Apple', 'King Edward', Rooster' and 'International Kidney' to eat!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.