The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

Music Corner

When you've downsized just about as far as you want to go (as I kid I grew up on a 160 acre hardscrabble New England farm with a farmhouse built in the 1780s) and you're living your retirement years in a comfortable but small mobile home with the love of your life (the Divine Ms Connie), you make every nook and cranny count. This is my music corner in the guest bedroom, home to a variety of stringed instruments, and my most recent thrift store find, a Casio keyboard.

Though not the console organ that had been my mother's that I used to own/play, I do some of my best praying at a keyboard, playing old hymns and spirituals I learned back when I was a kid.
This morning, worried about my nephew (you may remember my "prayers and hotrods" posts) I did some serious praying.

It's a good thing I trust in the power of music as prayer and that the Good Lord (having a sense of humor) would forgive me when I (playing by ear, badly but with great enthusiasm) followed Beethoven's Ode to Joy with Hank Williams "Are You Walking with the Lord".

... and the adventure (in the key of C) continues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.