14p

I couldn't see a jar of Sainsbury's "Taste The Difference" mincemeat for 14p today, and not buy it. I also had the immediate thought of trying the mincemeat cake recipe from Simonslife by way of Puffin. I'm not a regular baker, and with A now gluten-free, I don't know how old the self-raising flour is. Fearing that it might not have its normal vigour, I lobbed in some baking powder and sodium bicarbonate, thinking that one of them is supposed to make things rise. I fear that it's not supposed to have a sunken top. 

I won't "score 4 straight 10s from the judges", as K won't eat anything with dried fruit, Django mustn't, and A and L are both away. Even though Kermit was mithering for food, his disdainful look told me that this is obviously not fit for a cat to eat. 

Now cut, I see that the fruit has sunk a bit, but it's definitely got a cake and mincemeat thing going on, so I'll be glad to have it all to myself!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.