Life In Wales

By KarenC

Sunrise at Llyn Padarn

I've been wanting to capture sunrise at Llyn Padarn for some time, and when I mean sunrise, I mean the wonderful red clouds reflecting on the lake.  I didn't plan to go today as the weather forecast was showing it would be foggy in Llanberis, but when I woke up and looked at the weather app, it showed it was clear, so I jumped out of bed, quickly got dressed and grabbed my camera and the dogs and I left home just after 7,30am.  

It's a 40 minute drive so I managed to get there just in time and it was beautiful, despite it being too clear for the colour. There were a couple of other photographers there, one of which had driven  4 hours from the Midlands!  Not only was it very clear, there was a wonderful mist over the water - unfortunately the mist has made the sun a little fuzzy, but it was very atmospheric. I then took the boys for a walk to Dolbarn Castle and we home in time for lunch with Alan.

This afternoon I met Sue and we went for a walk locally and then I went back to hers and we sat in the conservatory to have a drink and a biscuit.  It was so clear that I've seen photos of the Northern Lights taken from the Great Orme and also over Colwyn Bay, if only we'd known, as his is the second time they've been seen whilst we've lived here.  We've now subscribed to the Aurora Watch UK App so will hopefully be notified when there's activity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.