Sunshine!

It may only last
the morning, but the sunshine
will lift me all day! 

~ carliewired

There was some delightful colour on the horizon at 8 AM this morning. I was out on my deck getting some shots of it while the temperature was just 0 C. 

I finished my first coffee by 9, then drove off to the hardware store before crossing the bridge. I wanted to see what Riverside Park looked like in sunshine. In particular, I wanted to see the water fowl along the river shore. It was a smaller group today. There's more open water now.

I tried to focus on birds in the air. I think I will have to leave that to the professionals. I did manage to catch some Canada geese in action. 

There are still trumpeter swans there. They really show up in the sunlight. There was a lot of preening going on today. 

The mallards are in good number. I witnessed a duck fight. Two males were going at it hammer and tongs. I wondered what that was about. It didn't disturb the other ducks at all. 

I found another photographer there. She was carrying a lot of gear and had really high-end equipment. I'm always impressed when I see someone like this. I can't imagine ever being able to manage all that. I'd fall over! 

My surprise today was the several goldeneye on the river. I haven't seen them for a long time. They were very intent on hunting. I had to be really fast to catch one above the water. 

Now that the roads are largely cleared, the potholes and broken pavement are evident. I'm wondering when that might be improved. 

I'm home to my own devices today. Our provincial health officer seems to think we're over the wave of Covid cases currently. I'm not believing at all. It's the hermit life for me! 

Our forecast is for a mix of sun and cloud with a high of 5 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.