Another House Site

This is the property of Janet and Paul. I took this image from the 'fire garden' right outside our bedroom They have finally gotten underway on building the actual house having waited 16 months for the work to begin. The giant mound of dirt is the dirt that was taken out of the trenches being dug for the foundations. It is right outside our bedroom and I don't know what will be done with it, but I'm sure it is relatively temporary. 

It's difficult to make out but one of the two excavators is parked next to the fence under the tree right next to our driveway. Behind it is a new pump house with an enclosure with a water tank behind it. The water tank is deemed necessary to provide enough water to run the ceiling sprinklers in the house in case the power goes out during a fire. It won't really help put out a wildfire but I'm told that it will allow people enough time to evacuate the  house.The actual house site is beyond the pump house. If you look closely, you can see a man in a high viz vest surveying the scene. And yes...the excavator was at work this beautiful warm Sunday morning...no day of rest for them after all the delays. At least they waited until 9am before they started rolling up and down with a constant grinding rumble. I took this picture for my own documentary purposes, but the sky looked so beautiful that I decided to use it as my Blip today.

Back pain has traveled to my hip now. I think it is all a result of a rotation in my spine which I have been working with Kathy on, but I have also spent some time on the floor of the office trying to roll and stretch it. We took Spike for a small walk and a romp around the field, and although Spike thought it was great, the hill neither rolled nor stretched my hip which hurt like hell.

John recovered overnight from his self-described exhaustion, so we did the errands we had planned to do yesterday. It wasn't very exciting...two new toilet brushes from Target and some 'Happy Frog' starter soil for John's tomatoes, but It was nice to get out and do something 'normal', even if it was only toilet brushes. I was tempted to look for a number of other things in Target, but as often happens to me, once I get in there, I can't get out fast enough....I just don't have the patience to wander around the store trying to find  random stuff.

Now I'm trying to find/design a small table to put next to the bathtub for a book or a glass of wine! We have three big tiles still leaning against the garage wall and I'm wondering if David could help me make a little table with it. The only problem is that it is porcelain tile and requires special equipment to cut it. There also may be a way to use it in our master bathroom when it gets a facelift....

There's always something to ponder....

Claire was due to fly from Zurich to New York today, but although she feels fine, she's still testing positive for Covid. Tomorrow is her 21st birthday which she may have to spend alone with Anthony's mother if she isn't allowed to fly. Everybody else has left to go back to school and jobs after the Christmas holidays.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.