Sharp-Shinned Hawk

At first glance, I thought this was a Cooper's Hawk. But when I got home and took more time ( w/help from field guide apps) I realized that it's a Sharp-shinned Hawk. 'Sharpies' are 'common' here in the winter and even though I've probably seen them, this is the first time I've gotten a photo. They are more petit smaller than the Cooper's and this one was very shy. I was only able to squeeze off two shots before it was gone!  
Nice weather here today, a cool 53F (11.6C), sunny with a brisk wind in from the northwest. Low temp at sunrise tomorrow is expected to be right around freezing. Usually doesn't stay that cold here during the day, so a high 61F (16C) for tomorrow is expected. And that's your Weather Update from North Central Florida! ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.