Monday

My working (half) week is over. 

The last day was quite painless. 

It started well, with an income tax rebate hitting my bank account. It relates to the tax return I submitted 12 months ago. I guess that makes it about 10 months overdue. 

I have been chasing my accountants about it for 6 months. They have been chasing HMRC about it for that long too (well, that's what they tell me). My theory is HMRC is skint. The Johnson junta has emptied the national coffers, and the money is now in the Cayman Islands. 

My Monday lunch at the church cafe has now become a positive habit, to be cultivated even on Mondays when I have some other reason to get me out of the house. I got my Blip as I emerged, bulging with broccoli soup and a tuna mayo roll. 

Sunshine. Blue sky. A sparkling campus. A full stomach. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.