Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Just another House Finch

I don't remember a winter where we've had so many house finches in the garden.  At almost any time during the day there are easily a dozen or more.  And the orange morph male that I recently blipped was among the group today.  Another shot through the window, I'm afraid.  

Jax decided to be difficult at bedtime last night so I took him back downstairs, outside (where it was single digits) and then back inside to play for a while.  By then, I'd missed my own little window of falling asleep so didn't fade out until after 3 am - only to awake at 6:30.  Yuck.  Hubs and I had an early morning appointment with our dermatologist for routine stuff.  And I had a little patch on my chest I wanted him to look at - he froze it off so all should be good.  It was just some post-radiation damage.  

Back home to play with the pup and then both of us took a nap in front of the fire.  We spent the afternoon indoors doing various things to keep the pup occupied - way too cold and icy to spend much time outside!

Several times during the day I looked out to see a mixed flock of grackles and blackbirds, probably about 200 birds, at the feeders and up in the trees.  Always kind of cool except for the fact that they can empty the feeders in very short order.  

Time to jump off the computer and head down to feed the pup - he's on a mission of destruction in my office.

Dark with arabica beans today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.