Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Luck...or not

For me, it was a moment of sheer luck when I glanced out the window just to see a broadly splayed, striped tail disappear into the top of the weeping cherry.  Only one bird has a tail like that - and it hunts other birds.  A second later, a big Cooper's hawk popped her head out of the tree, empty.  Unlucky for her, but lucky for me since she stayed there long enough for me to stealthily grab a camera and take a few shots through the dirty window.  I hope she has better luck soon, although I'd just as soon not see her take down prey.  Adding to my 2023 Yardbirds list.  Click the tag below to view all of this year's birds - I'm off to a much better start than last year.

Had an impromptu FT chat with my parents this morning which was a very nice way to kick off the day.  Also finally retested myself and happily got a big Negative on the Covid test!  Then a walk with the Brindle Boy.  Unfortunately, someone who shall remain nameless (but to whom I am married) left the favorite toy out in the yard last night ... and a fox got to it.  If you are unfamiliar with the scent of fox spray, it smells a lot like skunk - a musky, unpleasant scent.  Jax was totally put off by the scent and won't play with the toy now - and who can blame him?  I am thinking I will hang it from a tree or something and see if the scent eventually wears off.

I watched some videos and am experimenting with different focus settings on my d850.  Too soon to tell if I will make any permanent changes, but it's fun to learn some new things.  

Dark and plain today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.