Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Finchy

I think House Finches are extremely photogenic - there is nothing in their colors that is too contrasty so the camera likes them.  And they aren't especially flitty which makes them easier than, say, a chickadee.  They tend to perch out in the open which also makes the issue of backgrounds easier.  And, at least in my area, they are generally plentiful.  

After having to reschedule several times due to covid, I finally got in to be fitted for my "reading" scleral lens today.  For a little over a year I've been wearing a distance scleral in my right eye (which lost its ability to produce tears after I had brain surgery almost 15 years ago) and a contact in my left eye.  Just before the holidays, I tried switching the contact over to a reading lens but my brain just couldn't adjust so we decided to try the close up in the scleral lens.  And I am happy to say that I am wearing it now and noticing almost no issue in terms of overall vision.  This whole concept is old news for people wear regular contacts but in my case, it's been a bit of a trial. But hopefully I can jettison the reading glasses now - hurray!  

Jax got into a fair amount of mischief this morning - chewed the dining room carpet, destroyed a kitchen sponge, and so on.  I took him out in the yard for some play time with a new toy and then he even joined me in my hide for a while (a first, as he's always been a bit spooked about going in the hide. Now he is laying next to me with his head on my lap while I try to juggle my MacBook on what's left of my lap.  

Dark with raspberries today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.