A new snack

It's not new as far as food goes it's just not anything I would have had as a snack before. When you are really, really hungry and you want a cup of tea or coffee there is something in your brain that says 'and what can I have with it?'
Coffee and Tea are very social beverages and I'm sure serving them with little tea sandwiches or scones was how this tradition got started. However these days' white bread and scones are out if you want to watch your waist and there leaves this big gap of what to eat. You could always cut up an apple or munch on some carrots but I find that something with more of an aroma is more desirable.
I came up with this accidently. I had prepared it for my lunch and it wasn't finished cooking in time for me to include it with my meal. So when it was done I put it aside, cleaned up the kitchen and then got distracted on the phone. Later on when I was craving a cup of coffee I started looking for a little something to snack on to hold me over till dinner. I saw this sitting on the counter and I thought why not. I adjusted the seasoning to be more of a desert type flavor and warmed it up. It was delicious! It was a healthy complex carb with great flavor and it very satisfying.
So what is it? I was going to make you guess but I decided to tell; butternut squash. They sell it already cut up but I diced it for quicker cooking and to make it more bite sized. All you have to do is toss the pieces with a little olive oil, salt (I use Himalayan salt it's less powerful and so good for you). I stick it in the toaster oven on broil and keep an eye on it. No more than 20 minutes. When it's done and browned on the edges I take it out to cool and then add some cinnamon and a dash of coconut sugar.
Anyway I like it. It's not a scone (which is my favorite thing on earth) but it's better than nothing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.