Freedom Plaza

I was outside all day today. It felt so great to be in the fresh air and sunshine. I had to trim back shrubs in the garden and remove a few plants that didn't make it through the hurricane, ice and snow. Then I sprayed a few of the deer's favorite things to munch on in hopes of deterring them from eating my plants down to the stems!
Surprisingly I slept well after seeing a truly gross movie last night. Evil Dead was the suggestion my sister made. It was a cult classic from the 80's that was redone and it was the first movie like this I ever saw. I don't do horror or anything to do with demons. I jump, scream and generally make the other people in the theater miserable but my sister wanted to see it and since she had a rather stressful week I decided why not. The first ¾ of the movie was scary and believe me we both did our share of jumping. Once when I jumped I stiffled a scream but ended up biting my tongue! Towards the end of the movie it got so over the top gross it was almost laughable. An experience for sure but not one I want to repeat any time soon. *shivers*
I remember being a teenager and reading the book The Exorcist and I didn't sleep for months!!! I was sure my bed was moving at night! I used to have my father check my closets with a flashlight before I bed. Damn catholic school had me riddled with guilt for even reading something like that. Of course books are far scarier since so much is left to the imagination. Later when the movie came out I thought it was stupid.
My blip today is of the Metuchen 9/11 Memorial and is called Freedom Plaza. A CLOCK TOWER STANDS IN FRONT OF THE PLAZA.
It has a list the names of all 700 NJ residents that died on 9/11 with special emphasis on those 13 PEOPLE who lived in the Edison/ Metuchen area. It's located at the corner of the Metuchen train station which is a fitting place to have it as so many commuters use this station to travel to New York.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.