Barn Owls

I was the only participant in this evening's observation of the barn owls at Marston Lodge Farm. Pole position!

And I have learned something about using electronic shutter, or at least I think I have. You can't use a shutter speed higher than the one you are limited to with flash. Many of my photos, this one included show bars across the image, reminding me of taking photos with flash.

Well it can't just be that because one of the benefits, supposedly of using electronic shutter, is to be able to use very high shutter speeds. Must ask an expert.

I do have better photos than this one. At the end of the shoot I reduced the shutter speed to find out what would happen, and there was no barring. Strange.

I was stuck in the car with a bean bag over the window for close on three hours. As advised, I'd brought a blanket and was layered up with woolly jumpers, and vest, with woollen scarf and hat. All needed. I decided to leave at 8 pm when one of the owls flew down and sat on the perch.

The owls were fairly active in that respect. Two were local to the farm and another flew in from over the fields, twice.

I was so pleased to see them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.