Saying Goodbye to Sonya

Sonya died from Covid on Christmas Eve. She had been in the ELAPS panto a month previously but had looked distinctly peaky then. 

Sonya led, what I would call, a worthy life. She was devout and played piano at church. I think she played several instruments. She was a Girl Guide leader. She was a mainstay of the East Leake Amateur Players. If someone dropped out, Sonya would pick up the pieces. She directed many pantos and invariably took part. She gave me my first break in ELAPs, casting me as a little devil in Babes in the Wood. She cast George in the role of Antonio in the Juniors' cut down version of The Merchant of Venice. She became an adjudicator and committee member for Pantomime Alliance of Leicester when it threatened to become moribund, she represented ELAPs on the Village Hall committee. 

I wonder exactly how appreciated she was because she seemed to be so  matter of fact about her activities it might have been too easy for people to underestimate her commitment.. There was sadness at the funeral, real grief from her family. I wonder if the sudden shock of her passing left some people feeling numb. 

I always felt that she kept a distance. It was hard to say that she had an intense relationship with anyone, but she was evidently very fond of her two girls and she looked after her husband John when he became ill with Parkinsons' Disease. She herself had Rheumatoid Arthritis which must have blighted her life.

The world gave her a blessing in the end. It was a beautiful sunset.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.