MiasMeow

By MiaMeow

Memory Box'n

I keep a box, that is now full, with tickets, vip wristbands, show programs, paper clippings, pieces off costumes from shows, show dvds , letters and photos in it. I call it my memory box and it one of my most loved possesions simply because of it's contents. The stuff in there is mainly from 2004 (when I started on shows, dressing drag queens ) to 2010 ish...
I found a DVD in there of my most favourite drag troupe called TABOO who used to perform on Friday nights 2003-2005 I think, it was at the Xchange Hotel and they were almost like a cult for a while there.
Sondra, Tabitha, Caresse and Regime formed Taboo, I was dressing at the venue but only Saturday nights at this stage in 2004 when I turned 18. I remember being in the audience for their show one Friday and their dresser Cory pulled me into the dressing room exclaiming "we need another dresser" for the show that was on in 4 minutes! I dont even know if I said yes but of course it was my favourite show! With my favourite performers! As Cory was explaining the costumes to me Caresse turns to say " I think she knows the show and costumes better than you do" from being an audience member!! And it was true!

Those four have become great friends, Regime (Rhys) is a successful dancer, choreographer extraordinaire after coming 2nd in Australia's first season of So You Think You Can Dance & Tabitha and Caresse are two of my nearest and dearest.

Anyway the DVD - It is now 9 years old and scratched to buggery so I could never get it to play. But today, after I had a terrible day, it worked. Watching their 1st Birthday show brought so much joy, It was so fun to watch, and to remember how care free and easygoing everything was then, meeting all these people who are now, a decade later still my friends. It's not like that anymore in drag shows and gay bars of Melbourne unfortunately. But We did get to be part of a great little era.

I was also unpacking my last two boxes from when I had moved in 3 months ago and came across a box with a sketch pad, textas, feathers, glitter-basically an arts and crafts box for when people got bored at my house. In the sketch pad I found a pile of drawings I had done years ago... Superman, Wonder Woman, and other vairous sketches I had done and forgotten about. I used to do art in school and drew quite a lot, did screen prints, paintings etc but haven't for years. I used to love it too, but after so long not doing it my body would need some re training to get it all right, a but like when I stopped singing also. It's like when you stop training at the gym for 10 years you cant just get back to where you were instantly, you have to work at it.
If I have time soon I would like to work on both art and singing again...

The picture for today is of two of the drawings I did, Superman and Wonder Woman. I was obsessed with WW in high school and still love her, and dressing up as her!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.