A Fine Opening Day!

When high winds and heavy rain woke me at 5 a.m. today, I feared that opening day of the Bellingham Farmers Market season would be washed out, but by the time that Phil and I arrived -- half an hour before the market opened -- the soft light was perfect for photography and the rain had moved on.

I thought about blipping the fresh, local oysters that I wrote about in anticipation yesterday, but they weren't very photogenic. A dozen good-sized oysters for $8 (6.2 Euro/5.25 GBP) seemed like a very reasonable price to us, and in less than an hour, we'll be eating some -- or maybe all -- of them, panfried, for supper.

I shot 218 images, 55 of which I deemed keepers, but thought that this one best epitomized today, even though there are none of the wonderful fresh vegetables in it -- just people looking, shopping, talking, and enjoying the first day of the market's 21st season.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.