Grand Design

I've finished reading the manuscript of the autobiography of Thomas Smith, who built our family home and nursery in 1896. I've made notes for my sister who lives in France because she probably won't get a chance to read it. I found it very interesting how much very taxing work he did as manager at Nipsell's Farm, bought unseen by philanthropist Joseph Fels for a back to the land experiment.  

I took the book back to my sister in Burnham-on-Crouch so that it can go to the RHS. Thomas Smith was awarded a Gold Medal for services to horticulture by the Society. I drove onto the marshes near my sister's intending to take Ollie dog for a walk but because it is so flat and open there it was much too cold.

On the way back I noticed from the top of Mayland Hill, near our family home, that lower Mayland was sunny and the tide was very high in the River Blackwater. I passed Nipsell's farmhouse and took Ollie dog for a walk on the sea wall from where I photographed the above house which recently featured in the TV programme Grand Designs. It has an unusual cantilevered design and 'floats' fifteen feet above ground which means it will be able to withstand flooding which is more likely owing to climate change.

I've added an image to extras of the view from the house over Lawling Creek. The white building is on Osea Island which is now an upmarket resort.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.