Marionb

By Marionb

Walking a Mile ...

.. in someone else's "shoes", beats blazing the trail yourself!  

Another cold ( minus16 C ) morning walk, but I was better dressed for it this time. Better gloves, wind pants..and a bigger and better scarf. In need of an energy boost, and all bundled up, I drove down to the least populated of the local beaches for a refreshing walk in the snow. Seems I was again the only one in town who had that urge and so had the entire beach to myself....  except for hundreds of geese and three swans!  

Apparently walking in the cold since our last snow storm has not been all that popular at this beach. Yes, a narrow trail had been broken in the snow, but by very few people..There was one main set of deep shoe prints - for which I was grateful, as I could just use them, step by step, rather than plow my way through the deep snow. It was one of those "Where You Lead, I Will Follow" situations. Not wise to venture off the trail. If I fell in the snow, who would pick me up? Getting up is not my forte these days! 

I did not see a single soul until I was working my way back to the car. Coming along the trail toward me was a couple on snow shoes. Fortunately they were graciously walking along beside the trail, not on it..thus leaving intact those deep shoe prints I so badly needed. In fact, they were lamenting that it was more difficult to walk in the snow with the snowshoes than without, and envied me tripping along nicely in the tracks of someone else's shoes!   

I came home with lots of photos but alas, it was not the best time of day for capturing blips. To photograph the geese and the most scenic views along the shoreline, meant shooting into the light..   But it was still a good morning jaunt. I always come home feeling so much better for the fresh air, the ever-changing scenery and the wildlife. 

As I mentioned, there was no shortage of geese at the beach, but other than the three swans,  I didn't see any other blippable birds at all. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.