Shopping....

Remember when it was fun? I do...especially for going on a vacation. Flying off to exotic destinations always warranted buying some new clothes... something dressy for going out to dinner and of course something casual as well..and oh yes, a new purse would be great...and why not a fancy new bathing suit? Or if a more adventurous trip was in the offing, the excitement included shopping for things like new Gortex rain gear, a mask and snorkel, a trendier backpack..or maybe some sturdier hiking boots...Oh how I remember those good old days...Well, alas, it seems my traveling needs have changed somewhat....

The first thing on my shopping list for my upcoming overseas trip was a cane! Not just any cane, but a collapsable cane - one that would break down and fit into my day pack and hide until I needed it...you know, in case this newly inflamed hip or my degenerating disc back might decide to give out partway through a stroll on the cobblestone streets of a French medieval village! Such things never used to even cross my mind... but times have changed...So off I went this morning to the Wellness store where they sell Home Health Care products to find a cane....and I did..find one, that is.  See above.

And then the helpful sales clerk suggested that, at my age, I should also buy some compression stockings for the trip..Say what? Really? Is there anything else I don't know I need, now that I am "at this age"? No, no don't tell me..I think I can predict what you are going to say.....I don't want to know - but I am sure a new bikini is not one of them! 

And as far as a new outfit for the plane? Forget that. I do remember when flying was glamourous and you did get all dressed up to go on a plane, but that was way back when the meals came on real plates with silverware and they even served the dinner in courses! How old am I anyway? 

Too old for that bikini...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.