Marionb

By Marionb

A Second Chance...

Everyone should be given one, right? Well, after failing miserably  at knitting a hat recently, I was given a second chance by jolang, a fellow blipper, who sent me a no-fail pattern to knit another one...one that she promised would be easy peasy. Apparently I just had to dig out some old leftover yarn and go to it...and in no time, voila! A hat!  So I did - dig out some old yarn that is...

Now digging out yarn in this house is a major undertaking...I have an entire clothes closet jammed with nothing but yarn, so it was like deep sea diving to venture within.......the deeper into that closet I went, the more treasures I found... the long-lost ones.. the ones I had forgotten I even had. The ones for which I once had big plans....Heaps of lovely textured yarns from Colette Yarns in Wales...that were supposed to become an afghan - and still will some day... Art Yarns with glitter and sequins for glamorous scarves.. a collection of Jo Sharp yarns destined at one time to become funky tea cosies..alpaca yarns from a holiday in France  because I knew the alpacas.. a gift of NZ yarns from my daughter, lace yarns from the UK.... It was like going down memory lane - finding leftovers from projects I had done long ago, unused yarns for projects planned but never executed, and  beautiful yarns with no project in mind but acquired just because they were beautiful!  

I did eventually find what I needed....some neat Koigu yarns leftover from a sweater I had slaved over years ago and which, of course, when finished, did not fit...alack, the story of my knitting life. 

I started the hat today and so far, no disasters! I can see however, that Maggie might provide some in the future...disasters that is.... She managed to get hold of one of those balls and before I could stop her, had it unraveled and had herself all tangled up in it!  Could be trouble ahead! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.