flowerdancer

By flowerdancer

The Ties that Bind

This lovely sandstone Standing Stone is part of a modern Stone Circle installed in the grounds of our local Hospital by the local branch of SANDS, the Stillbirth and Neonatal Death Society in November 2020. The Sculpture is the work of a local and talented friend of mine, Max Nowell - you can see his work here at maxnowellsculpture.co.uk

These are his words about the sculpture:-

“Most people, when they stand in an ancient
stone circle, can sense the timeless presence of the place, the innumerable lost generations of people that have visited the stones for reasons of spirituality or curiosity. If enough stones still stand there is a feeling of being enclosed within an open landscape. There is a temptation to be still and to ponder what surrounds you.
These attributes of a stone circle might be of some comfort to people - if they spent a few minutes within a circle of roughly human-sized stones they might remember all the people around them that loved and protected them. There are ties and bonds between all people and organisations and I hoped that my rope carvings might symbolise that”. Max Nowell, Sculptor.

We passed this today on our way from the car park into the Hospital where my husband was to have an MRI brain scan to check on his Epilepsy. I love Max’s work and one day I am going to treat myself to a piece of his Sculpture for my garden. He is also, along with his wife Penny, a very talented Cider maker but I think that is a story for another day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.