Taking shape

My next crafting project involves needle felting to make (hopefully ! ) a blue tit from a kit which my step daughter gave me a year or two ago.  

It says suitable for beginners but every time I looked at the instructions I got daunted, mainly by the wire shaping and twisting to make the feet and skeleton.  I'd also never tried needle felting before and so had experiences, no matter how rudimentary to draw upon. 

However I resolved to try it and succeeded in making the feet (I think working the bookshop helped with this).  I was slightly bamboozled as to what exacting to do for the next stage - making the body but found a  useful video which have helped me get started.  Once I got the basic gist of it  I found it relaxing - something rather therapeutic about stabbing a ball of wool with sharp needles (although you do have to be careful as one pricked thumb testifies). 

Other tasks beckon for now so I have put aside - I reckon it will take me longer that the 2hrs indicated in the instructions so I will pick up again the week after next when I have less "engagements". 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.