Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

London Docklands workshop

Today was the London Docklands photography workshop that the boys had booked for me as my Christmas present. I am waking up ridiculously early lately, so I got up at 5am and took my lateral flow test as was required for the workshop. I had packed my camera bag the night before so I was all ready when Gavin dropped me at the station at 7.30am.

The train was fuller than I expected, with only about a third of the people on the train wearing masks - it makes no difference what the government rules are as people do what they want. The tube across to Tower Bridge was very quiet, and I got to my meeting place on time. There were meant to be six of us on the workshop but one person got Covid so it was a small group of five people led by Astrid McGechan.

We took the DLR out to the docklands in the east of London, and wandered around taking photos of the buildings and reflections, as can be seen here. I have added an extra of the reflections. Then we walked to Millwall Inner Dock and took some more photos of the docklands. We had a quick sandwich/salad lunch at a café before getting the DLR back to the city. Unfortunately the light was horrible today, flat and without any texture in the sky. It seemed to get worse after lunch. We went up to the roof gardens at 120 Fenchurch Street, which only recently opened in December. The views from there were very good but on such a grey day it wasn't an exciting view.

We finished off at about 3.30 pm and spent the last hour in another café reviewing what we had done today over coffees/tea. It was a very enjoyable day but the dull light meant that photos were not as good as they could have been. I was very tired by the time I got on the train to come home, I was already flagging by 3pm, and when I walked in after 6pm I was ready to put my feet up, but quickly made supper. I edited a few images but will look at the rest of them tomorrow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.