Engine trouble

Our Kalyn is 22 today! I can't get my head around that. We called her this morning and sang Happy Birthday to her - "Nice duet!" she said. She's going home for her birthday dinner with Renata, James, Krista and Dan, and Spencer is going too. She asked Renata to make roast beef with Yorkshire pudding, mashed potatoes and green beans, and that's what's being served. James and Spencer both made birthday cakes, so there will be plenty of dessert! 
I had a library book due tomorrow so thought I'd drop it off today after lunch and have a wander around town, something I haven't done for ages. I knew it would be quieter than a week day or a Saturday, and it was. I enjoyed a good walk up and down the streets, just looking and taking photos. It's been foggy and chilly all day. I walked through the park and saw some people gathered in the shelter there. When I walked by, a very friendly woman greeted me and asked if I'd like a bowl of Borscht or vegetable soup. I thanked her and told her I'd just had lunch. She said that they're set up there every Sunday offering a free hot meal. I should have asked for more information but there were others waiting in line. Really great to see people helping out other people in this way, and I did tell her that.
Soup Sunday there - and it's Soup Sunday in this house too, split pea soup that I made a couple of weeks ago with enough left to freeze for another meal.
Extras: Boats and plane, no train (get the song reference?) and a door within a door that I hadn't seen before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.