A Quiet Day

I fancied a very quiet day today, basically pottering round the house, so unfortunately you have another jigsaw photo. I might have to change my email as I’ve been getting a lot of unwanted and unrequested emails in the last couple of months. Today I drew up a list of companies I’d have to change my email with and got close to 100. They surprisingly add up, so for example this is what I need for a blip: I’d normally take a photo for blip on my Canon camera, then edit it on my HP pc, which uses MicroSoft Windows and an Adobe software subscription for photo editing and obviously electricity. Then I’d post it via my internet provider to my Blipfoto account, and later comment on my Apple iPad - so that’s 8 companies just for a blip! 

Day 679 / Day 46 of Plan B (for my record only)
From 11th Feb, Covid tests for fully vaccinated travellers are being scrapped for those arriving in England. The Treasury Minister Lord Agnew has quite rightly resigned from the House of Lords over the Govt’s ‘lamentable’ record on tackling fraud in the coronavirus business schemes. The NAO has estimated that out of the £47bn given to small businesses under the bounce back loan scheme, £5bn could have been fraudulently claimed. I remember reading ages ago that a number of loans went to new ‘companies’ set up to commit the fraud - a quick online check at Companies House would have found the date the company was set up in a couple of minutes! £4.3bn of Covid loans have been written off so far. Dominic Cummings would only give evidence to Sue Gray re ‘partygate’ in writing - quite sensible in the circumstances. The WHO’s Covid envoy spoke today about his frustration at people saying Covid should be treated like flu - ‘I keep wondering what the people who make these amazing predictions know that I and my colleagues in the WHO don’t know.’ 1.82m days have been taken off by NHS staff due to staff suffering with the long term effects of Covid. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.