Life through the lens...

By ValC

Winter delight.

The promised sunny intervals never came, and it was dull all day.
However it didn’t stop us enjoying our first visit of 2022 to RHS Harlow Carr Gardens in Harrogate.
They are very busy building bridges, extending the tropical garden, altering the herbaceous border along with many other new projects.
We are looking forward to seeing the developments as the year progresses.

Today it was all about the winter walk, ( see extra) and the other winter flowering plants dotted throughout the rest of the garden and woodland, including some primroses, which certainly seemed early. Maybe not the wild ones.

The star of the show was my Blip plant which as well as looking beautiful, had one of the most gorgeous perfumes ever. We could smell it before we saw it.
Daphne bholua. ‘ Cobhay Snow’.
Bred by Junker’s Nursery, in Higher Cobhay, Somerset.
A plant I would love to have in our garden.

I have made a collage of some of the other photos I took, including two very different sculptures. ( I wonder which you prefer ? )

As always we had a look in the shop on the way out. I spied a hat that I thought would be perfect for walking in sunshine. ( future blip! )
A bit expensive but Mr C persuaded me to buy it. ( didn’t need much persuading)

We then called to see some friends on the way home, and stayed for an hour or so.
P has not been well for a while, and can no longer walk with the Pudsey Ramblers.
After numerous tests and scans they can’t find out what is wrong. Hopefully they will soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.