I bought a barn

Around 14.00 hours Daan and I went to his allotment, to sign the papers for Daan's new garden. He's moving fromm 52A to 18A now.

Daan was rather nervous about it. He wanted it so very much, but still had doubts if some last minutes problems would come up. They didn't.
Papers were signed and we then went with the now former owner of 18A to have look around.
This man, Viktor, showed us around and mentioned a few times he still needed time to break down his barn and move that to his new place. 
I knew Daan wants nothing more than a barn on his land and I decided last week already, when we saw 18A for the first time, that I wanted this barn to stay were it is right now.

I asked Viktor if he wanted to sell the thing. No, he didn't he said. It was all new wood and he'd built it less than a year ago. It wasn't even finished. Glass windows still have to be placed.

Ok, I said, I wish you good luck with taking it apart and building it all up again. 
He looked at me and said that would be an awful lot of work. I agreed of course. "Heavy work too, in cold weather...." He looked again and asked how much?

"Gotcha!"
I said the amount I had in mind. His eyes became smaller, and Daan's eyes became huge.  Viktor thought about it, and thought about it for a long time. Too long. I said I don't need an answer right now, think about it. You now know my final offer, no more, no less.
No, he said, it's ok. Deal.

Wow!! Now Daan has a huge waterproof (new) barn of approx 3x3meter.
Daan couldn't believe what he'd just heard and can't wait for Spring to come. Rather cheap as well. we couldn't have one this size for this money.

We went home, and I picked up my mother. We had tea together with Joke and Peter and we had dinner together at my place. After that, some TV watching with Toby snoring in between us.
Around 22.15 I brought her home again.

The weekend now is already history again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.