Life Savors

By osuzanna

Sunday Scones

I was inspired to make scones today, after seeing Walking Wombat's recent scone blips.  

My Aussie sister made the most delicious scones every Sunday morning.  She really had no recipe and did it completely from memory and by feel, which made writing down the instructions sketchy, at best.  The first time I tried making them was quite disappointing and I was so sad that I could no longer ask her for advice.  

I have made them a few times now, each time trying to refine the recipe a bit more to get her kind of results and this batch came the closest.  

Devonshire cream is hard to get here, so I have tried substituting Creme Fraiche, Mascarpone, or whipped cream. This time I had none of those, but found that Irish butter tasted quite delicious with Strawberry Jam. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.