Kitchen bitz

Garlic bulbs, fresh ginger root, hazelnuts, dried sage & bay leaves, a piece of wood & two huge oak leaves I picked up somewhere on my walkabouts, all in this blue & white china bowl which sits close to hand on the kitchen worktop.
Dental visit at 9am this morning, I thought for a root extraction, but as a filling came out next to the gap where the implant/bridge is going to be that needed fixing first. I find the dental work a bit uncomfortable as I don't make saliva, plus my throat muscles were damaged during my radiotherapy so I need the dentist to stop every now & then for me to try and swallow. That done. My bank account £116 lighter. I did have an appointment next Monday afternoon, but I now need a morning appointment, so the afternoon appointment was cancelled, the next morning apt available is the first week of March. The way this treatment is going I will probably get a new front tooth in a years time. It's unbelievable!
 I did the laundry, got that on the line, then walked up to the allotment with the kitchen veg waste for the compost heap. It was so peaceful up there, no one but me. I' m planning to go back up tomorrow and plant the onion & garlic sets as the weather forecast is favourable.
Back home I made a shepherd's pie with the lamb left from yesterdays roast meal. I added some red lentils to make the lamb mix go a bit further to make a pie for Mum's dinner tomorrow. I added a potato/sweet potato/butternut squash mash topping.
I did some sewing, then it was lunch time.
I made a batch of Fat Rascal's. The first of time of making, the recipe said it made 6, but I made 12 smaller versions. They taste good, not too sweet, I'll add a bit more spice next time. Hubby likes them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.