Teddy Tuesday

In memory of Marlene1949. 

This blip also brings back happy memories. I never had a teddy when I was a child even though my siblings all seemed to benefit from them. In the 1990s I graduated from University. It was a hard slog as I was working and had four young children at the time. It was a distance education course and I was the only one in the state to be enrolled. It was before the internet was of much use but I learnt to use a computer and laboriously  typed out my assignments before posting them off.  I was a nurse, not a typist, so one of the biggest challenges was learning to use a keyboard and how to write an essay. The nursing stuff was easier. 

Anyhow when I graduated from the Warrnambool campus of Deakin University in Victoria my Mum and Dad came with me, leaving Bob and the 4 Kids at home. It was the only adult holiday I had just with Mum and Dad and we had a great time. Warrnambool is 1021 km from here and we had to look it up on a map. When we were at the ceremony they had these teddies and I complained to Dad that I never had one as a child, he secretly bought me one. How thrilling. It became a bit of a thing as next Christmas Deakin bear received a girlfriend bear ( from Dad) and after a trip to the UK a child was added to the collection. The child was a stuffed mole but we didn’t worry too much about the details. 

Teddy is leaning on a vase that was my Aunty Di’s. The wrapped gift is for Max, 14 yesterday. The tomatoes are home grown. The daffodil is from a fund raising ( Cancer Council). So there is my blip for the day.

After a year of having no visitors we have two lots arriving tomorrow. Our daughter from Sydney and my sister in law and her hubby in their caravan. It’s Australia Day tomorrow and we are all going to Bryan and Kristy’s for dinner. We’ve been cleaning. Bob has been doing an amazing job with the vacuum cleaner and mowing and edging the lawns. I’ve been dusting and doing some less strenuous jobs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.