Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Our first visit to the Allotment in 2013

Though our allotment is free of snow and the soil remarkable dry, some of our neighbouring allotments are still covered in snow. We felt we'd been let off remarkably lightly by the bad weather and as long as we manage to dig over the fallow patches and remove weeds this week I think we will be able to plant up fairly quickly. I say a week because although there is not too much top growth showing there are remarkably firm foundation building up under the soil and I'm sure it could be a wilderness again in no time. Tony Blackburn has weathered well this winter, though his coat is turning more mould green by the year. Ann is rescuing the strawberries black cover, bedding it down and encouraging them to grow through their holes. (It does cut down on weeds and gives the strawberries something to rest on.)

Whenever I go up there I remember why I love it so much, the open sky and the views are tremendous and today was fairly mild by current standards and I had to remove my scarf and fleece waistcoat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.