Developing an idea

You've seen this before in an earlier mono `proof' print. Since then I've been experimenting with several colour versions. This one was done last Thursday, but I little added a little watercolour today to mainly balance out the reds. Which brings me to the dilemma I'm wrestling with in producing these prints - do I print the linear aspects and then add colour later using watercolour/ dilute acrylic or do I carry on working in this way, creating the lines by dry-point etching (and I think it's the quality of the line that comes from the print that I think I really like) or do I carry on creating the colour on a separate collograph plate when sometimes it works but more often it doesn't live up to expectations? I put lots of ink on and then rub most of it off again and if I'm lucky I get something worthwhile. Maybe I have to choose and settle for one final monoprint and abandon the idea of a series. Dilemmas!! Some artists do settle for one final mono-print - but then why print? Round it goes in my head! I'm currently sorting out some images to have reproduced by Moo prints (I like the quality of their images and the fact that you can have different images on each card if you want to). What I find is that I can sell small reproductions at `Open-Up Sheffield' to people who cannot afford an original print. I can always use these images to send my own notes to people if they fail to sell.
Alongside this I've been finishing off my Dad's tax for 2011-12 which seems to have been missed - lots of form and very few relevant boxes! I had to wait until this afternoon before I could talk to someone in the tax office - something about a `work to rule/ strike' this morning. Anyway I got through to a very helpful woman in the Cardiff office this afternoon - so a big thank you to her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.