Life after Burradoo, NSW

By MountGrace

Congratulations Sr Barb OAM

Today, 26 January, is Australia Day. When I was reading through the list of recipients of Australia Day honours this morning I was thrilled to see that Sr Barb had been awarded an Order of Australia Medal (OAM).

Sr Barb was my chemistry teacher, my Head of Department when I was a Science teacher, my colleague on the board of my old college and, most importantly, she is my friend.

I took the photo on the left in 1962 when I was 13 with an old Kodak Brownie camera. I have always treasured the photo.

Sr Barb was a school teacher and principal for over four decades. She was instrumental in forming an association of secondary science teachers in the 1960s when a new and controversial science curriculum was introduced. Now in her 80s, her intellect is as sharp as ever and her humility is as profound as ever. When she was approached by a newspaper to comment on her award today she said “I can’t imagine why they think I should have one. When I got the email, I thought it was spam! They had to send the email twice because I didn’t answer the first one.”

Her sense of humour is still intact as well. When I sent a congratulatory message to her today she replied “Thanks. I'm managing the notoriety.”

Congratulations Sr Barb. Your OAM is so thoroughly well deserved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.