THE LUNE AND THE DOCTOR

Title explanation - The Lune is the River Lune and The Doctor, well if you look in extras you will notice that I spotted The TARDIS parked up whilst in Kirkby Lonsdale today - the CLASSIC Doctor that is, of course.

A good day for me today.  Although the weather started off grey again I decided I needed to go out, so left Hubby at home in charge in case Mr Crowe the decorator called and I headed out to Kirkby Lonsdale.

A project for LetsDo52 this week is Documentary:  Broken - so I thought I needed a large village or town somewhere. I wanted to go somewhere I haven't been in an age so Kirkby.

Had a few spatterings of rain on the way there but as I parked up in the car park by The Kirkby Lonsdale Brewery it had stopped.   I had a nice gentle walk through the town, taking a couple of photos here and there, headed up to the Church, wandered in a there a little but didn't want to stay too long as there was about 5 or 6 people obviously holding some sort of Parish meeting there.

Then I went and found Ruskin's View.  Now I have been to Kirkby Lonsdale many many times over the years but never really got any further than the town, the church or Devil's Bridge - much to my shame.

Typical though - although I could see Ruskin's View (the main photo) the walk along The Brow was gated off due to some sort of repair work going on - such a shame.  Still never mind - it was still a pleasant view - even on such a grey day.

I also wondered around their Memory Garden at the back of the church.  It was made in 2010 apparently and is a circle and has it sliced off - a bit like a cake into 12 segments for each month.  Even in January walking around this tiny circle I could get some delightful aromas.

Walked back through the town, down the main straight, where I found THE TARDIS, back up into town, down an alleyway and found myself at Devil's Bridge eventualy.  I then had a lovely walk along by the River Lune, which was looking remarkably clear and flowing beautifully and back up into the town again.  

I decided to into a new place for me for some lunch "Botanica".  It was pleasant enough, I think I prefer The Bakery though.  The other cafe I usually like to go to was shut for January so I had to choose somewhere and I stupidly feel really awkward going into a pub on my own - I don't mind cafes and restaurants - but pubs, just 'cos I'm so old fashioned I suppose!!!!!  Anyway the young lady at Botanica greeted me beautifully, was very helpfully, kind and considerate.  I actually had an stone baked pizza - which was delicious, but too much for me.  Why I had a pizza I really don't know as I rarely eat pizza due to it's fat content but I just really fancied one today!!!!

I had thought about going into The Brewery but I wasn't sure whether there was a cafe in there or not.  There was a board to say serving specially ground coffee - but the doors look like you go into a museum or something.  There was a takeaway for it round the corner.  I will have to investigate this further.

I then just came home.  Rang Hubby to let him know I was OK and that I was on my way back and he informed me that Mr Crowe the decorator would be arriving about the same time as me.

On getting home, I followed Mr Crowe down Kentsford Road, so great timing.

Mr Crowe and I chose colours - just off-whites and greys and white for the woodwork.  Discussed how it was going to pan out.  They will take just over a week but under two weeks apparently.  They will be starting at 8.00 IN THE MORNING - EEEEKKKK, that's going to be interesting as we don't usually get up until then!!! They work right through until 4.30 with two coffee breaks and a lunch break.  

I will be glad when it's done.  it will then just be a case of saving up for the curtains and carpet and the lounge will be completed - well apart from replacing furniture but that's going to take years!!!!

Enough of my rambling on for today.  Do take care everyone and stay safe and I will see you all tomorrow.  I have included a few links for those that are interested.  Some of you will already know all about Kirkby anyway, but not all will and when I do go out I like to learn a little something about the area if I can

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.