Back in the archives part 2: buried treasure

I tested positive again, this morning, on the lateral flow test. I've done a PCR too, this morning... we'll see what that shows.  I do now feel free of symptoms, so I'm really hoping for a negative result soon.

Meanwhile, I've been going through some more old boxes of photos and negatives. While hunting (fruitlessly) for something else, I found some treasure in a sheet of negatives.  These two shots were taken by my then husband Graham, in the early 1980s.  At that time we shared a beaten-up but much-loved Olympus OM1. We'd recently bought a house together and a man used to visit the street to sharpen tools and knives. The small grinding wheel was driven by the pedals on his bike. In the main shot, you can just see sparks flying from the wheel.

Even in the depths of his later dementia, many years after our divorce, Graham would periodically remember this man and wish that the photos could be found. Both of us looked, and neither of us found them.  So there are mixed feelings about finding the negatives now: some delight - especially as I can pass them on to Jack and Ruth - but also great sadness that I wasn't able to locate them while Graham was still alive. He would have loved to see them.

Once I found the negatives, I also needed to learn how to digitise them in 'positive' form.  My Nikon has a facility for doing this, but I'd never used it. Covid confinement has given me the uninterrupted time to pay proper attention to the manual finally, and to work my way through it.   Definitely a 'positive' experience :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.