The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Millais, the blind girl, 1854

From the Birmingham Museums and Art Gallery collection.

"The contrast here is between the rapt appreciation of nature by the blind girl and the twisted pose of her sighted companion. The air is pure and clear (as opposed to a stinking city miasma) and the colour jewel-like. Notice the scavenging ravens and the rough-knuckled appearance of the blind girl's hands. It has even been suggested that the blind girl may have lost her sight owing to the Irish potato famine..."

Who knew? I'm attending (on catch up) an author's lecture on the role of scent in the work of the Pre-Raphaelites and the Aestheticists. The forthcoming book will be entitled  Smell in Art, 1850-1914, by Christina Bradstreet. This is a WEA lecture. I'm playing catch-up more often, now that I'm back to work, part time.

The market was quiet. I didn't sell many cards. No one made a killing. I played Spotify DJ, as usual, and talked to two different couples who were both celebrating their 40th wedding anniversary.

Afterwards friend J and I went to a few shops and a cafe. By the time I'd picked up a couple of items in  Waitrose, I was completely fed up, and called Steve to come and pick me up. He's not allowed to breathe in the car park, of course. Then I made a cup of tea, climbed into bed to watch Pointless (on catch-up) and promptly fell asleep!

Made supper (badly) and attempted my market accounts.  I'm still washed out (from having had CoVid Omicron). I'd settle for early retirement now, so that I can carry on listening to lectures online, instead of always trying to catch up. Only another one week and NINE YEARS until I get my state pension.

PS  I had not realised what a terrible screen shot this is. Apologies. 

PPS I have had to make my journal protected for the time being. It's a long story that I won't trouble you with.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.