La Cucaracha

Strava Day 243/75 Hard Off Phase Day 1.  As I have completed Phase 2 yesterday, gave myself breathing space today: Enjoyed creating content, had a Sandwich with Salted Egg Spread instead of the usual oatmeal before going outside.

***
Took a 5:55 shot which shows a post-it note and my not so good handwriting mapping out my route for the day however featuring this photo of myself by my cousin, Kuya D. Coming from the local market for produce, I was in a hurry to get home so I could have breakfast with B and T and then Kuya D said in Filipino: Mukha kang magsasabong! (Looks like you're going to a cockfight!). I just nodded and continued walking but then thought it better to ask him to take my photo just to see how I looked like and also because I heard the same comment from a stranger I passed by asking if I had a chicken inside the bayong. Learned about that today. I've never been inside a cockfighting arena and not really interested in that local bloodsport. I am using the bayong for convenience. Papa asked why I need to bring two and told him it would not be balanced if I only brought one. This is now my alternative strength and cardio: incline walks with farmer's carry.
***
T said the sweetest thing last night. Showed him my photo prior to enrolling myself in the 75 Hard Program. In my eyes, I "let myself go" but in his eyes, what he saw was my smile. He said: That is a good photo of you because you are smiling.  
***
Title is in reference to a local movie that I did not watch but was exposed to: Curacha, Ang Babaeng Walang Pahinga, a 1998 film. Translated it's: Curacha, A Woman Without Rest. Google being Google has led me to some other information that I wish I did not know because it would just add to confusion. Apparently, Curacha/La Cucaracha is a racial slur in some parts of the globe.
***
Overcast here now but still ridiculously idyllic. We all did chores. Gramma prepared the rice, Gramps cooked food, B did laundry and I did marketing, dishes and floor sweeping. Grateful to be here. Thank you for passing by. Here's to you finding time to pause, look up, close your eyes, breathe and have the courage to persevere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.