Unusually close proximity

Not a very active day. Plans to go on the spinning bike have come to naught. We did walk down the Water of Leith and back via the supermarket at the end of the road to pick up some milk. And some heron was posing amongst the ducks. Very odd. Not only were there ducks, but also kids on the bank making a racket. I have no idea why it hadn’t flown away. Perhaps it was sick or something.. Who knows? Normally, herons only have to sense a human presence and they are off. Definitely they don’t allow you to get this close.

Apart from that, I decided I needed to surmount the marking mountain, and I did so successfully, and I also reduced the inbox nonsense to a fair degree. I feel better for that.

And another evening of TV nonsense.

The one negative point is the Biscuit Factory. They’ve had an event going on since about 1pm and it is due to continue until 3am. I think a lot of people have been phoning to complain. I phoned about 5pm and was told a licensing inspector was coming down here to follow upon a forest of complaints. I phoned again just before 9pm. Still waiting to hear whether this will have any positive consequences. It is not quite as noisy as it was around 5pm, but it’s not particularly good. I’m doing my blip and Mr A is watching some music TV….and I can still hear the “thump, thump” behind the noise of the TV. I don’t like to be a grump and a grinch about the nighttime economy, especially after the last two years. But this has been all day…and now all night…. since they started soundchecking around 10am and it has just gone on, and on, and on. Thump, thump. Edinburgh supposedly has a zero tolerance “you mustn’t be able to hear the music outside the venue” policy, except for temporary venues (i.e. you have to protect the festival). The Biscuit Factory is not a temporary venue. It just has zero soundproofing. If they want to continue, especially after the development goes upon the old JL site (i.e. the waste ground across the way), they will surely have to soundproof.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.