CASUALTY OF THE STORM

When I woke up this morning I found lots of messages on The Close Whatsapp group.  Neighbours asking whether something they had found in their garden belonged to anyone.  Things like roof parts, garden ornaments, hanging baskets etc. Some neighbours were reporting roof tiles that had fallen off and fences that were down.  And a few recycling bins had been tipped over spilling the contents everywhere. All this mayhem was due to Storm Malik which raged all last night and all day today until around 5pm when the wind dropped.

I checked my own front garden and found all was fine... apart from finding lots of recycling items scattered about. ( none of them mine - my bin stayed upright ). Then to the back garden where I found some pots and garden ornaments tipped over as well as the bird table.  Nothing missing or damaged.  I was lucky.  And the local area seems to have had no power cuts.

The area as a whole seems to have suffered quite badly.  This storm seems to have been far worse than Storm Arwen which hit last November. Trains and the Metro - cancelled.  Roads blocked by fallen trees.  Roofs ripped off and walls down, cars damaged by debris etc.  Hopefully this calm weather will last so that folk can get on and repair any damage etc.

I decided not to risk my safety by going out so I had a quiet day indoors.  Did some washing and caught up with TV viewing.  Did an online order for cat food and cat litter ( a few puppy items were also bought ). 

Steps today - 3,062

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.