Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Great morning

Great morning so I went to the reserve early.  And finally - finally - I managed to get some half decent shots of the great tits.  They tend to flock with their blue and the long-tailed cousins, but in my expereience are just that bit better at keeping out of the camera's sight line. Mostly, like this cheeky guy, they turn their backs on you, but there's one in Extras who absolutely didn't!

What I do seem to be noticing though, is that by this point in the winter the small birds in general are not feeding quite so frenetically and are starting to break into smaller groups. Also, in the last week the Naturalists' Trust has hung various nesting boxes in the taller trees and today I actually saw a bluetit inspecting one of them.  Just a shame they've been put quite so near last year's sparrowhawk nest.

The rest of the day's been pretty quiet.  I came in from my walk very cold so after tidying up and a hot bath it was wrap-yourself-in-a-rug time and read!

Enjoy the rest of your day and I hope the week begins well for you  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.