Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Lookee upee

I've always found lichens oddly attractive, so when this lovely bunch shook hands with the lens I decided to find out what they are - a bit of lookee upee on Google.  The fruits of my research, courtesy of The Woodland Trust, are:

a) This one is called usnea subfloridana (I think, don't quote me!)
b) Lichens are made up of two different organisms: a fungus and an algae, or a fungus and a cyanobacteria 
c) they exist together in a mutually beneficial partnership called 'symbiosis'
d) the fungus contributes food, the algae/cyanobacteria supply the shelter

So just as weird as I always thought!

Nothing else to report (as SG said to Bozo).  Last night and this morning haven't been as windy here as many of you have put up with, though the sky when I woke was very unsettled.  Hope the storm/s have left you all okay and that Monday's treating you kindly  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.