One step forward...

Jon and Henry have worked so hard again today. After a morning at archery they have spent the rest of the day on the kitchen. Firstly finishing off the floor, then putting together another unit, fitting the cupboards in the return, and the breakfast bar on top. A lot of very careful measuring and cutting. Of course there are still lots more small jobs to do, but this has brought the main structure and shape of the kitchen together. The top photo was the day the wall was knocked down, November 16th. Painting out that awful blue, several coats, then so many units, the sink, the floor, all done by Jon and Henry in 2 months, and with Christmas in the middle - pretty good going I think. It is already a million times better than it was, and we are so pleased we took the plunge!

I've been doing a lot in the garden. Pruned my roses and cleared loads of weeds. I also spent some time making pots from old newspaper which I planted up with broad beans and leek seeds. The start of my veg for this year. I had originally planned to go to sing at Binham Priory, but for a few different reasons, I decided not to go. Cooked a roast and Daniel came to enjoy it with us.

The bad news is that our header tank is filling up with boiling hot water again, so we are back to square one. We just can't face it now, its proving so stressful for us both, never mind financially draining, so the heating will go off tomorrow and we will tackle the problem again in the summer.

Stupid of me to think things were on the up for us. But I'm going to enjoy the kitchen and I still have a new sofa coming, and lots of blankets. We will borrow mums heater for Mollie's room, and we have another for Henry's room. An extra eiderdown on our bed, and we will be fine. My nanna didn't have central heating in her house, so I'm pretty sure we will survive until the weather warms up. Just hope it doesn't snow! Am I sounding positive? I'm trying...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.