Work & play

I didn't do any of the work though- that was Jon and Henry who have worked hard all day to lay the new floor in the dining area (also currently my office). It looks amazing. Really transformed the space. We are almost there now...not that 'I' have done anything to contribute - other than make the decisions when Jon needed a final conclusion on things, especially colour. The photo in the collage shows where the kitchen becomes the dining area, and my work desk, fridge and cooks cabinet have been forced onto the tiled space, so that the floor was free to work on. The weights are to help the glue on the joining strip stick!

While they were doing that, Mollie and I went for a wander in Cromer. Charity shops and The Gangway received our custom. We also successfully returned two items: a bag of rotten oranges in Lidl - they happily swapped them. And some pens Mollie bought in QD yesterday which didn't work. A note though to all - when offered a receipt, take it. They didn't want to refund Mollie the £2.49 because she didn't have a receipt, but luckily the shop assistant who served her confirmed she had bought them and money back sorted. We had a nice coffee and cake together, then headed home for lunch.

I spent the afternoon making the cover for Jon's kadai- I will explain in another blip once I have the finished article. Then I cycled up to the allotment as it was getting dark. My electric bike makes the very short journey a joy. When I got home I had planned more seed sorting but we went out for fish and chips and for the first time this year, sat on the pier to eat them. It was extremely windy, and quite cold. Perfect weather to watch the sea do it's magic crashing over the wall to soak any passers by. We stayed dry! I love to stand and watch it when I'm warm.

While we were on the pier, Mollie and Josh got bucket list chips then met up with their friends for drinks in The Gangway. So twice in there for Mollie today. It has a great vibe morning and night, for young and old, and the in between!(by in between I mean me!)

Caught up and watched the final episode of Around the world in 80 days. We loved it. Now something about castles is on in the background. Tv seems a bit boring tonight.

Two of my Norfolk friends are going through the sort of difficult time at the moment, that I was going through just over a year ago, so I've been thinking about them both. Things in life happen that we don't like, and can't control. We aren't prepared for sadness and loss, and perhaps can never be, but with support of good friends you get through. I hope they will feel that support from me.

It's been a good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.