Marriage

At last, it's arrived! A copy of my great grandparents' marriage certificate. Not good for the progress on the curtains as I couldn't resist temptation, and once again spent far too long messing around on Ancestry. I'd hoped that knowing William Henry's father's name and profession would enable me to trace his parents and learn a bit more about his past.

So far, no luck! His father was William Davies and he was a butcher. It seems that a huge number of couples living in Cardiff around 1860 had the surname Davies, and many of them chose to name their baby boy William Henry. And there were several Mr Davies the butcher!
It's going to take a lot of detective-work and time to establish much, if anything, about William Henry's past. I'll keep plodding on - or should that be back...

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.